Book Review: MILA 2.0

10222362
Goodreads

Title: MILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0 #1)

Author: Debra Driza

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

My Rating: 2/5 stars

Pages: 470

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Date Read: December 23-26, 2016

Source: Purchased | Hardcover

synopsis

Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

11

That was quite a long, grueling read. And unfortunately, I didn’t like most of the time I spent reading this.

MILA 2.0 is all about, well, Mila – a teenager who recently moved to the country with her “mom” after a “fire incident” that made her lose her “dad”. At first, everything seemed like your normal high school teenage drama thing but everything started to change when Mila realized she was human at all! Gasp! She’s actually a teenage android that as created by the military that costs about a hundred million dollars! And her “mom” wasn’t her mom at all – rather, she’s one of the scientists that helped created her. Suddenly, both of them were on the run because bad guys are after Mila’s technology. Oh wow, how exciting! More badass scenes! More guns and bombs!

Except, no. Ha-ha. How unfortunate.

I was totally disappointed. I swear, I so was. The cover alone screamed so much sci-fi and technology, but then I actually did the reading part?

It took this book about 200 pages before I could finally found something interesting. And not to mention that the first part was just total teenage drama??? With (bleh) Hunter came careening into view, Mila suddenly found herself making enemies with her so-called “friends” just because the guy her friend’s been crushing on was suddenly interested in her?? And why would Mila like her back just after a couple of days??? Pray tell me why in the world would a guy’s feelings even matter when your life is on the line?? Honestly! This book got me so mad right now.

It was so annoying to be inside Mila’s head. I could not relate to her! I mean, I tried to understand just because she’s being a hormonal adolescent android, but sometimes, she gets to over-emotional that it’s pathetic.

But the writing was good, actually.

And I do admit, having a supercomputer for a brain is really cool.

And part two and three was the only thing that got me hooked. Reading this made me feel like it’s torture. And there were times that I even considered stopping but then I remembered having this copy for like, four, five, years ago? And I keep on dropping it halfway. So you see? I tried. And now I’ve finished it. But then I realized there wasn’t anything interesting I missed.

Leave a Reply

