Book Review: The Distance Between Us

15283043Title: The Distance Between Us

Author: Kasie West

Published by Harper Teen

My Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Pages: 312

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Date Read: March 29, 207

Source: ebook | Purchased

synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

11

I actually chose to give this book a try because I’m in a horrible reading slump, as of the moment. And based on some of my fellow bookish friends’ advice, I should go for a refreshing, quick, and a light contemporary read. And The Distance Between us seemed like a perfect fit. So, there you go.

The story centers on our sarcastic seventeen year-old protagonist, Caymen Meyers (somehow, her name always makes me think of cayenne peppers hahaha) who looks after their doll shop that her mother owns. Born from a single mother, Caymen’s life consists of constantly helping around – up to the point that she even decides to pursue her own ambitions later on for the sake of their financial stability. Okay, for short – she considers themselves poor. But in came Xander Spence – a guy who definitely oozes money, and things go in a wrong turn.

Characters? They were pretty okay. What I did love most about this book was Caymen’s sarcasm and wit. But the rest about her personality was quite a let-down. To start off: they’re not even thatpoor! I mean, at least they’d get to own a doll-selling business, able to eat thrice a day – and stuff like that. She loves to exaggerate the fact that they’re not as rich as Xander. It was quite annoying, to be honest. And as of Xander – he was quite the charmer, but I couldn’t picture him as clearly as I would have, because I kind of find him too generic? Or maybe because the whole plot itself is cliché?

Romance? The good thing about this was everything started from friendship. For quite a short book (not as long as any contemporaries out there), the romance was slow-burning. Actually, the main plot was probably dedicated to Caymen’s and Xander’s relationship development. But it was quite refreshing, although just like what I’ve mention earlier, there were clichéd parts.

The writing? What I did liked about the whole story was the fact that Kasie West’s writing is simple – and very fitting even, for stories like these. And I really did love Caymen’s sarcasm and humor.

BUT! It really is too cliché for me, you guys. That’s the real issue here. Xander’s a super-rich boy who owns about five hundred hotels, flies on airplanes to find a replacement on a customer’s burned shirt, and even gets featured in magazines. And he gets to visit some ordinary girl every morning just to give her a cup of hot chocolate? I mean, hello? Definitely unrealistic. But hey, this is fiction, after all. So you might consider this a guilty-pleasure of mine as well.

He laughs again. “You’re different, Caymen.”
“Different than what?”
“Than any other girl I’ve met.”

I really, really loathe that line. Just go shoot me or something.

The ending was rushed. Definitely rushed. I was frowning the whole time at the last part of the chapters – where Caymen gets to find out who her family really is and gosh, I’ll have to say, I’m surprised. I’m being sarcastic here, okay? It’s just that, after all this time, she just gets to meet them right then and there? Just like that? Then what’s all that sulk she was doing for? What were all those what-ifs for?

And another note: I really don’t like the cover.

So, would I recommend this book? Probably. And if only because if you’re looking for something light and fluffy and short – then this book is perfect.

I pull a notebook titled Organ Donor from the top shelf of my closet, flip to an empty page, and write the sentence that my mom had said. This is where I keep all the information I have on my dad.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Distance Between Us

Leave a Reply

