Book Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend

18660447Title: The Fill-In Boyfriend

Author: Kasie West

Published by Harper Teen

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Pages: 343

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Date Read: March 30, 2017

Source: e-book | Purchased

synopsis

When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

11

Of course I wasn’t letting a boy get to me. Especially not Hayden. Our story was way too complicated to turn into something real.

Wow. Color me surprised. I never really though I’d like this book so much, considering the title and the cover. Personally, I think all of Kasie West’s books deserve a lot of better covers. Not just…this.

Anyway, The Fill-In Boyfriend is a story about Gia Montgomery, who is actually very popular around her school, the student council president, got pretty friends, and have the perfect family. Overall, life was great until her boyfriend broke up with her into the parking lot. For some reason, she walked over to the stranger and asked him to pretend to be her boyfriend, and surprisingly, he agreed. And things get more complicated after that.

I already mentioned this above but really, I’m shocked to see that I really, really liked this book. I’ve read some reviews right after I was done, and most of them gave this a pretty low rating – considering Gia’s attitude and everything.

I love EVERYTHING about the characters. And I love Gia the most.Needless to say, Gia is shallow and some sort of stuck-up, but I actually love that part of her. It’s not her fault she was built to be a popular, mean girl-ish character we often see in cliched teenage movies that focuses on high school social hierarchy. But one thing that stands out was the fact that she tries to be a good person, but trying doesn’t mean she succeeds every time.

Being a better person doesn’t mean taking abuse.

Gia’s actually very kind, and to be honest, I find her bearable compared to other Katie West’s characters. There’s some sort of realness to her and I love the fact that she’s just one of those confused teenagers who actually have no idea where her life is heading.
And of course, Hayden. Gosh, I really, really, love Hayden too. He’s just too adorable, too funny and too nice and has the lamest taste in friends – a similarity that he and Caymen shared.

“That was the saddest attempt to throw a baseball that I’ve ever seen,” Hayden said after my…sad attempt to throw a baseball.

And Bec – Hayden’s younger sister – is just the best. She’s a tiny little thing full of eyeliner, anger issues, and boy problems.

“I said I didn’t want to strangle you. That doesn’t mean I want to hug you.”

One thing I really just didn’t like was Gia’s older brother, Drew and her friends – especially Jules. HNGGG

Aside from the pretty impressive set of characters, I was also drawn to the message the book was relaying. I mean, sure, The Fill-In Boyfriend is a cute contemporary romance but hell, I found out it was more than that. It’s about friendship and family. And yeah, telling lies are always wrong since it’ll eventually catch you but that’s besides my point. Although it did center on the romance, it actually gave out some pretty deep words. It talks about how important it is to be real – like, if you guys got a problem with someone – go and tell them. Just, you know, don’t let things stay the way they are when you know they’re wrong.

“Mocking someone else to make us seem deep or intelligent only proves the exact opposite.”

But one the that I always had issues with when it come to Kasie West’s books are the fact that the endings would always feel rushed. There wasn’t any closure with Gia’s relationship with her friends at all, but hey, I’m glad she eventually got rid of them. They were all toxic, and I hated the fact that they chose to outweigh their years of friendship over some petty lie.

Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend this book, you guys. I know it makes you all cringey and uncomfortable – especially those who rarely read fluffy contemporaries (like me LOL), but trust me, this novel is more than just having fake boyfriends to fill-in ex-boyfriends

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend

  1. This has long been in my TBR and I don’t know why I haven’t picked it up! I love Kasie West, although I’ve only read one from her works! Ha! 🙂 Gald to know you enjoyed it! Suddenly wanted to pick it up! 🙂 xo, Kat

  2. My first Kasie West book was By Your Side. It was super cute and fluffy but I didn’t love it as much as I wanted to. However, I’ve heard rave things about this particular one. After seeing how much you enjoyed this I’ll have to give this a go. (The premise sounds cliche but way too adorable to pass up.) And Gia sounds like a wonderful, rootable heroine as well.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Joyce. Hope you are well!

    Summer

  3. Ahhh I’m so glad you loved this, Joyce!! 🙈 I had SO much fun reading this, it’s one of my favourites for sure. It’s just so cute and I enjoyed the characters as well despite the flaws ahah. Kasie West’s books always manage to make me smile, honestly. They’re just so adorable! ❤😍

Leave a Reply

